Federal High Court Abuja

2019 polls have produced 736 election petitions —Appeal court

NEWS DIGEST–The figures released on Thursday by the Court of Appeal in Abuja showed that 736 election petitions were filed to challenge the outcome of the 2019 general elections at the Federal and State levels.

The Court of Appeal is the coordinating secretariat for all election petition affairs, including the selection of judges participating in the election tribunals across the country.

The data released by the office of the Chief Registrar, Election Petitions Tribunal, Court of Appeal, Mrs Rabi Abdulazeez, showed that four petitions were filed to challenge the All Progressives Congress and President Muhammadu Buhari’s victory at the February 23, 2019 poll.

It also showed that the senatorial elections held in 109 senatorial districts attracted 207 elections petitions.

The House of Representatives elections conducted in 360 federal constituencies had attracted 101 petitions.

Giving a breakdown of petitions so far filed as of April 4, 2019, the data released by the Information Officer of the Court of Appeal, Saadatu Musa Kachalla, read, “House of Representatives elections — 101

“Senatorial elections — 207

“Governorship elections — 101;

“State House of Assembly election — 381;

“Presidential election — 4”

The PUNCH had earlier reported that a total of four petitions had been filed before the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal.

Copies of the petition were on display on the premises of the Court of Appeal in Abuja, venue of the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal.

The petition filed by the Peoples Democratic Party and its candidate, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar on March 18 was marked CA/PEPC/002/2019.

Another petition was filed on March 7, by Hope Democratic Party and its National Chairman and presidential candidate, Chief Ambrose Owuru.

The other petition with number CA/PEPC/004/2019 filed ýon March 19, was by Pastor Aminchi Habu and his party, the Peoples Democratic Movement.

The fourth petition was by Geff Ojinika and Coalition for Change, who both contended that “the election was vitiated by substantial non-compliance with mandatory statutory provisions, which irregularity substantially affected the election, such that the 1st respondent (Buhari) was not entitled to be returned as the winner of the presidential election”.

The petitioners all joined INEC, Buhari and the APC as the respondents.

But the Coalition for Change and Ojinika added Vice President Yemi Osinbajo to their list of respondents.