President Muhammadu Buhari
President Muhammadu Buhari

Presidency Unveils Economic Advisory Council

NEWS DIGEST – President Muhammadu Buhari has constituted an Economic Advisory Council (EAC).

This was revealed by Mr Femi Adesina, the Special Adviser to President Muhammadu Buhari on Media.

The members of the council include: Prof. Doyin Salami who is the Chairman, Dr. Mohammed Sagagi as Vice-Chairman, Prof. Ode Ojowu, Member; Dr. Shehu Yahaya, Member; Dr. Iyabo Mashan Member; Prof. Chukwuma Soludo, Member; Mr. Bismark Rewane, Member; Dr. Mohammed Adaya Salisu,S ecretary (Senior Special ,Assistant to the President, Development).

According to the statement, the advisory council will replace the current Economic Management Team (EMT) and will be reporting directly to the President.

The Economic Advisory Council (EAC) will also advise the President on economic policy matters, including fiscal analysis, economic growth and a range of internal and global economic issues working with the relevant cabinet members and heads of monetary and fiscal agencies.

It was stated further that the EAC will have monthly technical sessions as well as scheduled quarterly meetings with the President. The Chairman however has a privilege to request for unscheduled meetings if the need arises.