Murtala Sule Garo
Murtala Sule Garo

2023: Murtala Garo, 3 other Kano commissioners resign

NEWS DIGEST – Hours after the directives of the governor of Kano State, Abdullahi Ganduje, for his appointees intending to contest in the 2023 election to resign, the state commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs has tendered his resignation.

Other commissioners who resigned in the wake of the directive are commissioner for Rural Development Musa Iliyasu Kwankwaso; commissioner for Culture and Tourism Ibrahim Karaye and; commissioner for Budget Planning Nura Dankadai.

In the resignation letter sighted by PlatinumPost, Mr Garo stated he had a rewarding experience working under Mr Ganduje since 2014.

”I write with a deep sense of humility and gratitude to tender my resignation as Honourable Commissioner in charge of Kano State Ministry Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

”Your Excellency Sir, it has been an immensely rewarding experience working directly under your guidance and supervision from 2014 when I was elected as Local Government Chairman and your subsequent decision to appoint me as Commissioner in your administration. These years have afforded me the rare privilege to tap from your Excellency’s administrative acumen and political sagacity.

“There is no doubt that the present administration, under your able leadership, has impacted positively the lives of the good people of Kano State and I’m proud to be part of the giant stride of your administration in the last seven years. While thanking your Excellency for affording me the rare privilege serve, please accept the assurances of my loyalty now and always,” the letter read.

Mr Garo has long been touted as the favourite candidate to pick the APC governorship ticket in the state.

Mr Kwankwaso is aspiring for to represent Kura/Madobi/Garunmallam Federal Constituency; Mr Dankadai, Doguwa/Tudunwada Federal Constituency and; Mr Karaye, Karaye/Rogo  Federal Constituency.

latest news in lokoja, kogi state