Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq
Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq

Kwara increases ministries from 16 to 20

NEWS DIGEST – The Kwara State Government has increased the ministries in the state civil service from 16 to 20.

This is coming less than two years after it pruned the 19 inherited from the last administration.

The Government in a statement on Saturday said the decision followed the approval of a memorandum to restructure and split some government ministries to “accommodate developmental needs of the 21st century,” among others.

The memorandum, according to the statement signed by the Commissioner for Communications, Mrs. Abosede Olaitan Buraimoh, was presented by the state’s Head of Service, Mrs Modupe Oluwole, at a virtual cabinet meeting chaired by Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq.

The cabinet, the statement noted, approved that Ministry of Solid Minerals Development be excised from the current Ministry of Enterprise while the latter is renamed Ministry of Business, Innovation and Technology.

The old Ministry of Tertiary Education, Science and Technology is now Ministry of Tertiary Education while the Ministry of Works was split to birth Ministry of Housing and Urban Development.

The Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development was partitioned to birth Ministry of Women Affairs and Ministry of Social Affairs.

The Ministry of Sports and Youth Development will now be known as Ministry of Youths Development following the recent creation of the Kwara State Sports Commission.

The cabinet also approved the carving out of Ministry of Planning and Economic Development from the current Ministry of Finance and Planning.

According to the statement, the council also approved that each of the 20 ministries be manned by separate Permanent Secretaries, while the existing directorates in each of them would subsist.