9 Kano Assembly members defect to NNPP

NEWS DIGEST – Nine members of the People Democratic Party, PDP, in the Kano State House of Assembly have defected to New Nigeria People Party, NNPP.

The spokesperson of the Assembly, Uba Abdullahi, announced this in a statement in Kano on Friday.

Mr Abdullahi said the members had already sent a letter to the Speaker of the Assembly, notifying the House of their defection.

Mr Abdullahi said some of the reasons given by the members bordered on leadership tussle in the PDP, both at the state and national levels.

According to him, the affected members are Isyaku Ali Danja (Gezawa Constituency), Umar Musa Gama (Nassarawa Constituency), Aminu Sa’adu Ungogo (Ungogo Constituency), Lawan Hussain Chediyar ‘Yan Gurasa (Dala Constituency) and Tukur Muhammad (Fagge Constituency).

Others are Mu’azzam El-Yakub (Dawakin Kudu Constituency), Garba Shehu Fammar (Kibiya Constituency), Abubakar Uba Galadima (Bebeji Constituency) and Mudassir Ibrahim Zawaciki (Kumbotso Constituency).