2023: Governor Makinde wins Oyo PDP Governorship primaries

NEWS DIGEST – Governor of Oyo State, Engr Seyi Makinde, has been declared winner of the governorship primary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Makinde polled a total of 1,040 delegates votes to defeat his rival, Mr Hazeem Gbolarunmi who had two votes.

The primary was held at Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasingba, Ibadan on Wednesday.

Announcing the result, the returning officer, Ben Obi, represented by Abdullahi MaiBasia, said Makinde emerged as the PDP governorship candidate for Oyo State having polled the highest number of valid votes.

A total of six votes were void out of the total votes cast of 1,048.

Makinde, while reacting to his victory, said he was overwhelmed by the support of the people while calling on them to support him to win the governorship poll in 2023.

He said he enjoyed the support of the people because he had been truthful to them since he took over power in 2019.