Ekiti2022: INEC declares APC’s Oyebanji as winner of Ekiti governorship election

NEWS DIGEST — The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared Biodun Oyebanji of the All Progressives Congress as the winner of Ekiti governorship election.

The Returning Officer of the electoral commission, Prof. Kayode Oyebode declared APC’s Oyebanji in the early hours of today.

According to the result from INEC, Oyebanji defeated 15 other candidates that contested in the Saturday governorship poll.

Oyebanji, who is the immediate past Secretary to the State Government, won in 15 out of the 16 Local Government Areas of the state. He polled 187,057 votes.

However, his closest challenger, Mr Segun Oni, of the Social Democratic Party, scored 82,211 votes while the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Bisi Kolawole, scored 67,457 votes. Kolawole won his LGA, Efon, where he scored 6,303 to beat APC’s 4,012 and SDP’s 339 votes.

Observation shows that prior to the announcement of the results at the collation centre, all the results from the 16 local government areas had been uploaded on the Result Viewing Portal of the Independent National Electoral Commission, known as IReV.

Although the governorship election held across the 16 Local Government Areas and was relatively peaceful, incidents of vote-buying characterised the poll.

Candidates and agents of some political parties also alleged inducement of voters to deprive them of the opportunity of making their free choices.

latest news in nigeria today 
2021 ripples