Rotimi Akeredolu
Rotimi Akeredolu

More troubles for Akeredolu as 11 APC guber aspirants reject indirect primary

NEWS DIGEST – Eleven out of the twelve All Progressive Congress aspirants for the Ondo State Governorship election have petitioned the APC leadership rejecting the indirect mode of primary for the selection of the party’s standard-bearer.

As it stands, only the incumbent Governor, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, did not append his signature on the letter submitted to the office of the National Chairman of the party in Abuja.

Their decision was contained in a letter titled, “Why Indirect Primary cannot be an option for the Ondo State Governorship Primary Election,” dated 8th July, 2020 and addressed to the APC Caretaker Committee Chairman, Mai Mala Buni.

The letter which was signed by the eleven aspirants, was made public in Abuja, on Friday.

The aspirants argued that an overwhelming number of party members and aspirants prefer the direct mode of primary.

According to them, the direct mode would be just and fair to all.

The statement read in part, “Having variously traversed the length and breath of Ondo State, interfacing with party members as aspirants, we can confidently inform you that overwhelming majority of our party members prefer direct primary for the nomination of the party’s candidate for the 2020 Governorship Election.“

They cautioned the party against taking decisions which in their view would favour one aspirant above the majority.

The letter was submitted at the APC Secretariat by Chief Olusola Oke, one of the aspirants on behalf of others at the National Chairman’s office at about 3:15 pm on Friday.

Joseph Olusola Iji; Odimayo Okunjimi; Olayide Owolabi Adelami; Issacs Kekemeke; Olusola Oke Alex; lfeoluwa Olusola 0yedele and Olajumoke Olubusola Anifowoshe were among the aspirants who rejected the indirect primary.

Others are Awodeyi Akinsehinwa Akinola Colinus, Olubukola Adetula, Dr.Abraham Olusegun Michael and Dr. Nathaniel Adojutelegan.