Canada Government Announces Travel Ban on Nigeria, South Africa, Others

NEWS DIGEST – Canada Minister of Health, Jean-Yves Duclos, has announced the travel ban on foreign nationals from Nigeria, Egypt and Malawi amid Omicron Variant concern.

The Health Minister made the announcement with the Minister of Transport, Omar Alghabra and the Minister of Public Safety, Macro Mendocino.

According to the news release issued by the Public Health Agency of Canada. The entry prohibition will be effected tomorrow, Thursday December 2.

“Our government continue to take unprecedented and swift action to protect the health and safety of Canadians as we introduce new robust, science-based to prevent COVID-19 variants of concern from being spread in Canada.

“The new requirements announced today are another layer of protection to safeguard Canadians’ health,” the Canada’s Transport Minister stated.

In the same vein, the government of Canada has stepped up its surveillance efforts in curtailing the spread of the new COVID-19 variants.

It has now introduced additional measures to prohibit foreign nationals who have stayed in
Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Nigeria for the previous 14 days the right of entry into Canada.

The government maintained that all fully vaccinated travellers arriving by air from departure points other than the United States would be subjected to arrival testing.

It added that fully vaccinated travellers would be required to quarantine while they await the results of their arrival test.

The government of Canada also confirmed that it has recorded six cases of the Omicron Variant of Concern today.

“We are taking quick action at our boarders to mitigate travel related importations of the Omicron Variant .while our monitoring systems are know that the Omicron Variant is present in Canada. We need to remain vigilant in our own actions…,” Jean-Yves added.